OCTOBER 30th TO NOVEMBER 4th, 2022

· Sheraton Buganvilias Hotel · Puerto Vallarta · Jalisco · Mexico ·

TOPICS

· Archeometry · Climatology, climate change and atmospheric sciences · Soil sciences · Geophysical exploration · Space physics · Structural geology and tectonics · Geodesy · Environmental geology and geophysics · Petroleum geology · Geomagnetism and paleomagnetism · Geohydrology · Geochemistry and petrology · Modeling of geophysical systems · Oceanography · Coastal oceanography · Paleontology · Natural hazards · Sedimentology and stratigraphy · Seismology · Vulcanology ·

DEADLINES

· Special session and course proposals: June 5th · Abstract submission: August 14th · Participant pre-registration: September 11th ·

Calls

CN01 Special session proposals
Date: From April 4 to June 5
CN02 Course proposals
Date: From April 4 to June 5
CN03 Contest of scientific story
Date: From July 20 to September 30
CN04 Knowledge contest for undergraduate students
Date: From August 10 to October 14
CN05 Teacher of the year in Earth Sciences
Date: From August 10 to September 2
CN06 "Francisco Medina Martínez" Prize
Date: From August 10 to September 2
CN07 "Mariano Bárcena" Medal
Date: From August 10 to September 2
CN08 Prize for the best student presentation
Date: No deadlines apply
CN09 Support for undergraduate students
Date: From August 13 to September 18
CN10 Vice President of the Unión Geofísica Mexicana 2022-2023
Date: From September 2 to September 28

Program

Take a look at the general program to know the day and time of the presentations and all the activities of the RAUGM 2022.


General program

Regular sessions

AR Archeometry
Conveners:
Galia González Hernández galia@igeofisica.unam.mx
Ángel Ramírez Luna rangel@igeofisica.unam.mx
CS Soil science
Conveners:
Elizabeth Solleiro solleiro@geologia.unam.mx
CCA Climatology, climate change and atmospheric sciences
Conveners:
Erika Danaé López Espinoza danae@atmosfera.unam.mx
Luis Felipe Pineda Martínez luisfpm23@gmail.com
EG Geophysical exploration
Conveners:
Miguel Ángel Alatorre Zamora alatorre2004@hotmail.com
Fernando Corbo Camargo fercorbo@geociencias.unam.mx
Diego Ruiz Aguilar druiz@cicese.mx
Iza Canales García izacanales@unam.mx
FE Space physics
Conveners:
Américo González americo@igeofisica.unam.mx
Maria Sergeeva maria.a.sergeeva@gmail.com
Víctor de la Luz vdelaluz@enesmorelia.unam.mx
GEOD Geodesy
Conveners:
Vladimir Kostoglodov vladikost@gmail.com
GEOH Geohydrology
Conveners:
Janete Morán Ramírez janete@igeofisica.unam.mx
GP Petroleum geology
Conveners:
Javier Arellano arellano@unam.mx
GET Structural geology and tectonics
Conveners:
Juan Contreras juanc@cicese.mx
Luca Ferrari luca@unam.mx
GGA Environmental geology and geophysics
Conveners:
Laura Elizabeth Peña García pglaurae@gmail.com
Roberto Maciel Flores romacielf@gmail.com
Martín Hernández Marín mhernandez@correo.uaa.mx
GEOPAL Geomagnetism and paleomagnetism
Conveners:
Alejandro Rodríguez Trejo alexrt@geociencias.unam.mx
Fredy Rubén Cejudo Ruiz ruben@igeofisica.unam.mx
Miguel Angel Cervantes Solano miguel_cervantes@enesmorelia.unam.mx
GEOQP Geochemistry and petrology
Conveners:
Efraín Gómez Arias gomezar@cicese.mx
Luigi Augusto Solari solari@unam.mx
Teodoro Hernández Treviño tht@geofisica.unam.mx
MSG Modeling of geophysical systems
Conveners:
José Alfredo Ramos Leal jalfredo@ipicyt.edu.mx
OCC Coastal oceanography
Conveners:
Braulio Juárez Araiza braulio.juarez@uabc.edu.mx
Héctor García Nava hector.gnava@uabc.edu.mx
Amaia Ruiz de Alegría Arzaburu amaia@uabc.edu.mx
OCE Oceanography
Conveners:
Emilio Beier ebeier@cicese.mx
Alejandro Souza alejandro.souza@cinvestav.mx
Erik Coria Monter erikcmonter@gmail.com
Elizabeth Durán duranelizabethster@gmail.com
Jorge Alejandro Kurczyn Robledo jkurczynr@iingen.unam.mx
PALEO Paleontology
Conveners:
Blanca Estela Buitrón Sánchez blancab@unam.mx
RN Natural hazards
Conveners:
David Novelo davidnovelo@yahoo.com
Gerardo Suárez gersua@yahoo.com
SED Sedimentology and stratigraphy
Conveners:
Isabel Israde Alcantara isabel.israde@umich.mx
SIS Seismology
Conveners:
Luis Antonio Domínguez ladominguez@igeofisica.unam.mx
Raúl Castro Escamilla raul@cicese.mx
VUL Vulcanology
Conveners:

Special sessions

SE01 Physical limnology
Conveners:
SE02 70th anniversary of the National Sea Level Monitoring Service
Conveners:
Octavio Gómez-Ramos octavio@igeofisica.unam.mx
Jorge Zavala-Hidalgo jzavala@atmosfera.unam.mx
Sergio Valente Gutiérrez-Quijada quijada@geofisica.unam.mx
Miguel Ángel García-Palacios miguelg@igeofisica.unam.mx
SE03 Education and dissemination of Earth Sciences: challenges imposed by the pandemic
Conveners:
Caridad Cárdenas Monroy aqui.cari@gmail.com
Ericka Alinne Solano Hernández alierika@gmail.com
Oscar Alberto Castro Artola oscar.cas.art@gmail.com
SE04 Geophysical instrumentation and acquisition protocols
Conveners:
Armando Carrillo armando@igeofisica.unam.mx
Gerardo Cifuentes gercifue@igeofisica.unam.mx
David Escobedo dezenil@unam.mx
Jesús Sánchez jsanchez@unam.mx
SE05 From the Rheic Ocean to the Pangea amalgamation: a stratigraphic, geochronologic, and isotopic perspective
Conveners:
Luigi Augusto Solari solari@unam.mx
Mildred Zepeda Martínez mildredzm@geociencias.unam.mx
Michelangelo Martini mmartini@geologia.unam.mx
Pilar Navas-Parejo pilarnpg@geologia.unam.mx
SE06 Chihuahua: challenges and achievements
Conveners:
Ignacio Alfonso Reyes Cortés ireyes@uach.mx
Miguel Franco Rubio mfranco@uach.mx
Angélica Oviedo García aoviedo@uach.mx
SE07 Geosciences in society: education, outreach and dissemination
Conveners:
Marina Manea marina@geociencias.unam.mx
Silvia Violeta Nava Lara vnavalara@gmail.com
Andres David Bayona adbayonao@geociencias.unam.mx
SE08 Geoheritage and geodiversity
Conveners:
Gerardo de Jesús Aguirre Díaz ger@geociencias.unam.mx
Carles Canet Miquel ccanet@igeofisica.unam.mx
Geraldine Verónica Vázquez Alarcón geraldinevazal@ciencias.unam.mx
SE09 Recent advances in numerical, experimental, and statistical modelling for the characterization of wind energy and marine renewable energy
Conveners:
Alejandro Arias alexarias7114@gmail.com
Vanesa Magar vmagar@cicese.edu.mx
Osvaldo Rodríguez Hernández osroh@ier.unam.mx
Diego Arturo Canul Reyes dacr@ier.unam.mx
SE10 Cordilleran tectonics and ore deposits of NW Mexico
Conveners:
Martín Valencia Moreno martin.valencia@unam.mx
Mélanie Noury melanienoury@gmail.com
Rafael del Rio Salas rdelriosalas@gmail.com
SE11 Oceanic and atmospheric climate extremes
Conveners:
Ruth Cerezo Mota ruth.cerezomota@gmail.com
Paulina Cetina Heredia pcetinah@iingen.unam.mx
Maria Eugenia Allende Arandía mallendea@iingen.unam.mx
SE12 Thermodynamics in magmatic fragmentation
Conveners:
Mónica Cristina Barajas Zenteno starthepshyco@gmail.com
Ricardo López García theboywithblackeyes@gmail.com
SE13 History of Geosciences in Mexico
Conveners:
Juan Manuel Espíndola Castro jmec@unam.mx
Lucero Morelos Rodríguez luceromr@geologia.unam.mx
Arturo Iglesias Mendoza arturo@igeofisica.unam.mx
SE14 Late Paleozoic to Cenozoic of Mexico and Beyond: Stratigraphy, Magmatism, Geochronology, Tectonics and Paleomagnetism: A Tribute to Roberto Stanley Molina-Garza
Conveners:
Alexander Iriondo iriondo@geociencias.unam.mx
Harald Böhnel hboehnel@geociencias.unam.mx
Luis Delgado-Argote ldelgado@cicese.mx
Martín Guerrero-Suástegui mgros62@yahoo.com.mx
SE15 Coastal resilience
Conveners:
Paulo Salles psallesa@iingen.unam.mx
Alec Torres-Freyermuth atorresf@iingen.unam.mx
Gema Hidalgo Rodríguez gema.hidalgo@ccgs.mx
Luis Arturo Mendez Barroso lmendezb@asu.edu
SE16 Applied hydroacoustics in marine geohysics: experiencies and scope in the region
Conveners:
Leonardo José Figueroa Albornoz leonardo.figueroa@km.kongsberg.com
Vicente Carrasco Molina vicente.carrasco@km.kongsberg.com
Rafael Cossío González rafael.cossio.gonzalez@km.kongsberg.com
SE17 General
Conveners:
Ericka Alinne Solano Hernández alierika@gmail.com
Daniel Peralta dperalta@cicese.mx
SE18 Plenary talks
Conveners:
Ruth Cerezo Mota ruth.cerezomota@gmail.com
Daniel Peralta dperalta@cicese.mx

Abstract submission

The abstract registration of the UGM 2022 Annual Meeting will be open from June 14 to August 14.

To submit an abstract you need a UGM user account. If you don’t have it yet, create a UGM user account and start submitting your abstracts. If you already have a UGM user account but forgot your password, recover your UGM account password providing your registered email address.

Abstract registration cost is $525 MXN per abstract. We accept Visa and MasterCard.


Submit View

Participant registration

Make the payment of your registration to the RAUGM 2022 before September 11 and get a special price.

Undergraduate

$1,397

  • Cost for undergraduate students
  • Price in MXN
  • Student id is required
  • Tax of 16% for students without membership
  • After September 11: $1,906

Graduate

$1,943

  • Cost for graduate students
  • Price in MXN
  • Student id is required
  • Tax of 16% for students without membership
  • After September 11: $2,499

Members

$3,334

  • Cost for participants with membership
  • Price in MXN
  • Tax 0%
  • After September 11: $4,058

Non-members

$4,058

  • Cost for participants without membership
  • Price in MXN
  • Tax 16%
  • After September 11: $4,783

We accept Visa and MasterCard. 30% discount on registration for retired participants. Registration for one day has a cost of 55% of the registration for the entire week. Participants with valid UGM membership do not pay tax. Participants with no UGM membership pay 16% tax. To obtain/renew your UGM membership, please visit the membership webpage of the Unión Geofísica Mexicana.


Register

Courses

Sign up for the courses of the RAUGM 2022, space is limited.
Write an email to info@raugm.org.mx if you need more information.


Register


CU01 LiDAR point cloud and its applications
Monday, Oct 31, 11:00 AM (6 hrs)
Conveners:
Amalia Elizabeth Trujillo Torres amaliatrujillotorres@outlook.com
CU02 U in desert areas
Tuesday, Nov 1, 3:30 PM (4 hrs)
Conveners:
Ignacio Alfonso Reyes Cortés ireyes@uach.mx
Miguel Franco Rubio mfranco@uach.mx
Angélica Oviedo García aoviedo@uach.mx
CU03 Geosciences and society communication: Planeteando School
Saturday, Oct 29 and Sunday, Oct 30, 9:00 AM (14 hrs)
Conveners:
Raiza Pilatowsky Gruner produccion@planeteando.org
Anthony Ramírez Salazar editorial@planeteando.org
Mónica G. Ramírez Calderón monicald@geociencias.unam.mx
Bernardo A. Bastien Olvera bastien@ucdavis.edu
CU04 Ocean data management
Thursday, Nov 3, 8:45 AM (4 hrs)
Conveners:
Victor Alejandro Arias Esquivel alexarias7114@gmail.com
CU05 Geophysical data analysis using the JupyterLab interactive web development environment: its application in Earth Sciences
Wednesday, Nov 2, 8:45 AM (6 hrs)
Conveners:
Erika Danaé López Espinoza danae@atmosfera.unam.mx
Víctor Almanza Veloz victor.almanza@atmosfera.unam.mx
José Agustín García Reynoso agustin@atmosfera.unam.mx
CU06 Sampling techniques for dating archaeological context by Archaeomagnetism, Radiocarbon and Thermoluminescence
Tuesday, Nov 1, 3:30 PM (4 hrs)
Conveners:
Galia González Hernández galia@igeofisica.unam.mx
Ángel Ramírez Luna angel.termo@gmail.com
Ana María Soler Arechalde anesoler@igeofisica.unam.mx
CU07 W-phase workshop
Friday, Nov 4, 8:45 AM (7 hrs)
Conveners:
Luis Rivera luis.rivera@unistra.fr
Miguel Ángel Rodríguez-Domínguez miguel.anrodo@gmail.com
Ericka Alinne Solano alinne@angel.umar.mx
CU08 How to detect the ionospheric disturbances of different regions?
Tuesday, Nov 1, 8:45 AM (4 hrs)
Conveners:
Maria Sergeeva maria.a.sergeeva@gmail.com
Victor Jose Gatica Acevedo vic_gatica@hotmail.com
CU09 Scientific images manipulation with Python Opencv
Tuesday, Nov 1, 8:45 AM (4 hrs)
Conveners:
Pablo Villanueva Hernández pablo@geofisica.unam.mx
Gilberto Armando Casillas Pérez gacp@geofisica.unam.mx
CU10 Machine Learning in Seismology: Practical examples
Thursday, Nov 3, 8:45 AM (8 hrs)
Conveners:
Roberto Ortega ortega@cicese.mx
Dana Carciumaru carciumaru@cicese.mx
CU11 Intoduction to seismological instrumentation
Saturday, Oct 29 and Sunday, Oct 30, 9:00 AM (14 hrs)
Conveners:
Jorge Alberto Estrada Castillo jorgee@sismologico.unam.mx
Arturo Iglesias Mendoza arturo@igeofisica.unam.mx
Alejandro Hurtado Díaz alhudi@sismologico.unam.mx
CU12 Strategies for publishing scientific articles in high-impact journals
Wednesday, Nov 2, 8:45 AM (4 hrs)
Conveners:
Juan Contreras juanc@cicese.mx
CU13 Computational thinking in Earth Sciences
Wednesday, Nov 2, 2:15 PM (4 hrs)
Conveners:
Luis Miguel de la Cruz luiggix@gmail.com
CU14 Analysis and assessment of coastal resilience and vulnerability: theory and case studies
Friday, Nov 4, 8:45 AM (7 hrs)
Conveners:
Véronique Sophie Ávila Foucat savila_1@yahoo.com.mx
César Vázquez González cesargonzalez84@gmail.com
Paulo Salles psallesa@iingen.unam.mx
Alec Torres Freyermuth atorresf@iingen.unam.mx
CU15 SEISAN and SAC basic course
Monday, Oct 31, 11:00 AM (6 hrs)
Conveners:
Víctor Hugo Espíndola Castro victore@sismologico.unam.mx
Iván Rodríguez Rasilla ivan@sismologico.unam.mx
Miguel Angel García Palacios miguelg@igeofisica.unam.mx
Edgar Montoya Quintanar edgar@sismologico.unam.mx
CU16 Introduction to sub-bottom profiles acquisition by means of acoustic methods of high-resolution seismic reflection (Sub-bottom profilers)
Thursday, Nov 3, 3:30 PM and Friday, Nov 4, 8:45 AM (10 hrs)
Conveners:
Leonardo José Figueroa Albornoz leonardo.figueroa@km.kongsberg.com
Vicente Carrasco Molina Vicente.Carrasco@km.kongsberg.com
Rafael Cossío González rafael.cossio.gonzalez@km.kongsberg.com
Oct 31 Room G Room H
11:00 CU01 CU15
13:00
15:30 CU01 CU15
17:30
17:45 CU01 CU15

We accept Visa and MasterCard. Cost for students $510 MXN. Cost for members $800 MXN. Costs for non-members $1,380 MXN. Participants with valid UGM membership do not pay tax. Participants with no UGM membership pay 16% tax. To obtain/renew your UGM membership, please visit the membership webpage of the Unión Geofísica Mexicana.


Register

Expo

Venue

The 2022 Annual Meeting of the Unión Geofísica Mexicana will be held at Sheraton Buganvilias hotel in Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco, México.

home Website: http://sheratonvallarta.com
place Address: Blvd. Francisco Medina Ascencio No. 999, Zona Hotelera Las Glorias C.P. 48333, Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco, México
gps_fixed GPS coordinates: 20.626882, -105.230771
local_airport Local airport: PVR

1st Option (Breakfast included)

Room Single Double Triple
Deluxe $2,429 MXN $1,329 MXN $1,100 MXN
Sheraton Club $2,999 MXN $1,640 MXN NA
Junior Suite $4,190 MXN $2,199 MXN NA
Master Suite $5,290 MXN $2,750 MXN NA

Price per person, per night. Price with taxes included. Includes buffet breakfast. Tips included for bellman, housekeeper and breakfast. Up to two children under 17 years old without charge sharing room with two adults, does not include breakfast.

2nd Option (Without breakfast)

Room Single Double Triple
Deluxe $1,990 MXN $1,990 MXN $2,390 MXN
Sheraton Club $2,690 MXN $2,690 MXN NA
Junior Suite $3,390 MXN $3,390 MXN NA
Master Suite $4,500 MXN $4,500 MXN NA

Price per room, per night. Add tax of 19%. It does not include tips for bellman and housekeeper, these will be charged to the room. Up to two children under 17 years old without charge sharing room with two adults.

3rd Option (Students, without breakfast)

Room Single Double Triple
Garden $1,700 MXN $1,700 MXN $2,010 MXN

Price per room, per night. Add tax of 19%. It does not include tips for bellman and housekeeper, these will be handled at client discretion. A valid student id will be required to apply for this room rate. Breakfasts at 2x1 on the current price. 30% discount on meals, dinners and non-alcoholic beverages. The 2x1 on breakfast and the 30% discount on meals, dinners and non-alcoholic beverages also apply to students not registered in the hotel by presenting the student's id and the 2022 Annual Meeting badge.

Check-in and check-out

  • Check-in: 15:00 hrs.
  • Check-out: 12:00 hrs.

Mandatory tips

In case that the plan or package does not include tips for bellman and housekeeper, they will be charged directly to the room (does not apply for students).

  • Bellman: $50.00 MXN per person, includes arrival and departure.
  • Housekeeper: $27.50 MXN per person, per night.
  • Butlers: $50.00 MXN per room, per night.

Reservations

By phone:

By email:

There are a limited number of rooms, we suggest you make your reservation as soon as possible. To receive the special rate and obtain the prices published on this page, in your reservation you must inform that you attend the 2022 Annual Meeting of the Unión Geofísica Mexicana.

Additional benefits

15% discount on food and drinks in consumer centers. 15% discount on stores (not applicable in tobacco stores nor grocery stores). 15% discount on SPA. Usage of the gym in courtesy. These benefits apply to all participants enrolled in the 2022 Annual Meeting.

Sponsors

Past meetings