OCTOBER 31 TO NOVEMBER 5, 2021

· Expo Guadalajara · Guadalajara · Jalisco · Mexico ·

TOPICS

· Archeometry · Climatology, climate change and atmospheric sciences · Soil sciences · Geophysical exploration · Space physics · Structural geology and tectonics · Geodesy · Environmental geology and geophysics · Petroleum geology · Geomagnetism and paleomagnetism · Geohydrology · Geochemistry and petrology · Modeling of geophysical systems · Oceanography · Coastal oceanography · Paleontology · Natural hazards · Sedimentology and stratigraphy · Seismology · Vulcanology ·

DEADLINES

· Special session and course proposals: June 1 · Abstract submission: August 7 · Participant pre-registration: September 4 ·

Calls

CN01 Special session proposals
Date: From April 10 to June 1
CN02 Course proposals
Date: From April 10 to June 1
CN03 "Francisco Medina Martínez" Prize
Date: From August 6 to September 15
CN04 "Manuel Maldonado Koerdell" Medal
Date: From August 6 to September 15
CN05 Teacher of the year in Earth Sciences
Date: From August 6 to September 15
CN06 Contest "Geoscientific excursion guides in video"
Date: From April 19 to October 25
CN07 Contest "Knowledge in Earth Sciences" for undergraduate students
Date: From September 6 to October 15
CN08 UGM Vice Presidency 2022-2023
Date: From September 6 to October 18

Plenary talks

Juan Carlos Herguera

División de Oceanología, CICESE, México

Aportaciones del CIGoM al conocimiento del Golfo de México

Monday, November 1, 13:15 CST


Noemí Pinilla Alonso

Florida Space Institute, USA


Michael Mann

Department of Meteorology and Atmospheric Science, PenState University, USA


Martin Schimmel

Geosciences Barcelona (GEO3BCN-CSIC), Spain


Ross Stein

Temblor, Inc.

How do Earthquakes Converse?

Thursday, November 4, 18:00 CST

Program

Take a look at the general program to know the day and time of the presentations and all the activities of the UGM 2021 Annual Meeting.


General program


Download the App with the general program of the RAUGM 2021 on your mobile device. Available for Android devices on Google Play.


Presentations

Instructions for speakers

Oral presentation

  • Oral presentations are 12 minutes long to allow 3 minutes for questions.
  • Oral presentation speakers have the option to send a pre-recorded presentation, the video must have a maximum duration of 12 minutes.
  • Only presentations in PowerPoint or PDF format will be accepted, and in the case of pre-recorded presentations, only videos in MP4 format.
  • Presentations must be sent no later than one day before their assigned date in the general program.
  • Presentations should be sent to presentations@raugm.org.mx. The subject of the email must be exactly Presentation NNNN, where NNNN corresponds to the presentation number; for example, SIS-12 or SE01-03. You will also need to name the file with the presentation number, followed by the last name of the first author; for example, SIS-12-Suarez or SE01-03-Perez. If the presentation is too large to be sent by email, a file hosting service must be used to share it.

Poster presentation

  • Posters, both face-to-face and virtual, must be sent to presentations@raugm.org.mx. The subject of the email must be exactly Cartel NNNN, where NNNN corresponds to the poster number; for example, SIS-12 or SE01-03. You will also need to name the file with the poster number, followed by the last name of the first author; for example, SIS-12-Suarez or SE01-03-Perez. If the poster is too large to be sent by email, a file hosting service must be used to share it.
  • Posters must be sent no later than one day before their assigned date in the general program. Only posters in PDF format will be accepted.
  • Poster presenters have the option of submitting a recording of at most 3 minutes in which they "present" their poster. On the day of the event, you will be assigned 5 minutes in which you can present your poster. If you submitted a video, in the first three minutes of this allotted time the video will be broadcast and the rest of the time you can use it for questions. Only videos in MP4 format will be accepted.
  • Poster presenters will also have the possibility to interact with the other speakers in their session and with the participants who have connected virtually to it.
  • Face-to-face poster presenters at Expo Guadalajara will have a screen 2 meters high by 1 meter wide to put your poster. They must also send their poster in PDF format, and they can also include a presentation video of the poster of at most 3 minutes in length, for the benefit of RAUGM2021 participants.

All presentations, both oral and poster, will be available online during the RAUGM2021 and until November 15, 2021, but cannot be downloaded. By submitting their presentation for publication on the the RAUGM2021 platform, the authors implicitly give their consent to the UGM to upload their intellectual property to said platform for the duration of the RAUGM2021 and until November 15, 2021, so that the materials are available to registered participants of the RAUGM2021. In addition, the authors undertake that, under no circumstances, will they hold the UGM responsible for the misuse of this information by third parties, should such a situation arise.

Regular sessions

AR Archeometry
Conveners:
Galia González Hernández galia@igeofisica.unam.mx
Tamara Cruz y Cruz tamara_cruz@inah.gob.mx
CS Soil science
Conveners:
Elizabeth Solleiro solleiro@geologia.unam.mx
CCA Climatology, climate change and atmospheric sciences
Conveners:
Luis Felipe Pineda Martínez luisfpm23@gmail.com
Erika Danaé López Espinoza danae@atmosfera.unam.mx
EG Geophysical exploration
Conveners:
Miguel Ángel Alatorre Zamora alatorre2004@hotmail.com
Diego Ruiz Aguilar druiz@cicese.mx
FE Space physics
Conveners:
GEOD Geodesy
Conveners:
Enrique Cabral ecabralgeofisica@gmail.com
Bertha Marquez Azua bmarquez@cencar.udg.mx
GEOH Geohydrology
Conveners:
Janete Morán-Ramírez janete@igeofisica.unam.mx
GP Petroleum geology
Conveners:
Javier Arellano arellano@unam.mx
GET Structural geology and tectonics
Conveners:
Rosalva Pérez perezr@geologia.unam.mx
GGA Environmental geology and geophysics
Conveners:
Martín Hernández Marín mhernandez@correo.uaa.mx
GEOPAL Geomagnetism and paleomagnetism
Conveners:
Ana Caccavari anacg@igeofisica.unam.mx
Fredy Rubén Cejudo Ruiz ruben@igeofisica.unam.mx
Miguel Angel Cervantes Solano miguel_cervantes@enesmorelia.unam.mx
Alejandro Rodríguez Trejo alexrt@geociencias.unam.mx
GEOQP Geochemistry and petrology
Conveners:
Efraín Gómez Arias gomezar@cicese.mx
MSG Modeling of geophysical systems
Conveners:
José Alfredo Ramos Leal jalfredo@ipicyt.edu.mx
OCC Coastal oceanography
Conveners:
Ismael de Jesús Mariño Tapia imarino@enesmerida.unam.mx
Héctor García Nava hector.gnava@uabc.edu.mx
José Carlos Pintado Patiño jose.pintado@enesmerida.unam.mx
Braulio Juárez Araiza braulio.juarez@uabc.edu.mx
OCE Oceanography
Conveners:
Emilio Beier ebeier@cicese.mx
Erik Coria Monter erikcmonter@gmail.com
Elizabeth Duran duranelizabethster@gmail.com
Jorge Alejandro Kurczyn Robledo jkurczynr@iingen.unam.mx
PALEO Paleontology
Conveners:
Miguel Ángel Torres Martínez miguelatm@geologia.unam.mx
RN Natural hazards
Conveners:
David Novelo davidnovelo@yahoo.com
Gerardo Suárez gersua@yahoo.com
SED Sedimentology and stratigraphy
Conveners:
Isabel Israde Alcántara isabel.israde@umich.mx
SIS Seismology
Conveners:
Ericka Alinne Solano Hernández alierika@gmail.com
Miguel Ángel Rodríguez Domínguez miguel561a@gmail.com
VUL Vulcanology
Conveners:
Pablo Davila Harris pablo.davila@ipicyt.edu.mx

Special sessions

SE01 Physical limnology
Conveners:
SE02 Recent advances in numerical, experimental, or statistical modeling for wind power and marine renewables
Conveners:
Markus Gross mgross@cicese.mx
Vanesa Magar vmagar@cicese.edu.mx
Osvaldo Rodríguez Hernández osroh@ier.unam.mx
Alfredo Peña aldi@dtu.dk
SE03 Chihuahua: Land of challenges and mine tales
Conveners:
Ignacio Alfonso Reyes Cortés ireyes@uach.mx
Miguel Franco Rubio mfranco@uach.mx
Angélica Oviedo García aoviedo@uach.mx
SE04 OLLIN-IGCP669 Central Mexico: Seismic hazards in the Transmexican Volcanic Belt: Advances in neotectonics, paleoseismology, historical and instrumental seismicity
Conveners:
Pierre Lacan placan@geociencias.unam.mx
Rodrigo Alejandro León Loya r.leon.loya@gmail.com
María Ortuño maria.ortuno@ub.edu
Gerardo Suárez gerardo@geofisica.unam.mx
SE05 Regional climate modeling and CORDEX
Conveners:
Tereza Cavazos tcavazos@cicese.mx
Rosa Beatriz Luna Niño rluna@cicese.edu.mx
María Laura Bettolli bettolli@at.fcen.uba.ar
Matías Méndez Pérez jumendez@uv.mx
SE06 Research and professional placements 2020 and 2021: Reports of activities and experiences
Conveners:
Vanesa Magar vmagar@cicese.edu.mx
Jonás de Dios de Basabe Delgado jonas@cicese.mx
Mary Carmen Ruiz de la Torre mary.ruiz@uabc.edu.mx
Eloísa García Canseco eloisa.garcia@uabc.edu.mx
SE07 Seismotectonics in the Mexicali-Imperial Valley, Mexico-USA border region
Conveners:
Mario González Escobar mgonzale@cicese.mx
Joann M. Stock jstock@gps.caltech.edu
J. Javier González García javier@cicese.mx
SE08 Philosophy, logic, methodology and epistemology in Earth sciences
Conveners:
Octavio Lázaro Mancilla olazaro@uabc.edu.mx
Eduardo Juayek Sotelo ejuayek@gmail.com
SE09 Diversity, ethics, equity, and inclusivity (DEEI) - best practices in academia and in geoscience-led organizations
Conveners:
Vanesa Magar vmagar@cicese.edu.mx
Jonás de Dios de Basabe Delgado jonas@cicese.edu.mx
Mark Shimamoto mshimamoto@agu.org
SE10 Coastal resilience
Conveners:
Paulo Salles Afonso de Almeida psallesa@iingen.unam.mx
Alec Torres Freyermuth atorresf@iingen.unam.mx
Elsa Noreña Barroso enorena@yahoo.com
Gema Hidalgo Rodríguez gema.hidalgo@ccgs.mx
SE11 3rd Meeting of the Mexican Society of Western Archaeometry "Archeometric techniques in Mexico and Latin America in the XXI century"
Conveners:
Rodrigo Esparza resparza@colmich.edu.mx
Blanca Maldonado bem171@gmail.com
Avto Gogichaishvili avto@igeofisica.unam.mx
Francisco Sánchez arqueosantor@hotmail.com
SE12 Technologies applied to soil science
Conveners:
Ángeles Gallegos angelesgallegostavera@gmail.com
Francisco Bautista leptosol@ciga.unam.mx
SE13 Heavy metals in urban soils and dusts
Conveners:
Anahi Aguilera aaguilera@cieco.unam.mx
Francisco Bautista leptosol@ciga.unam.mx
Avto Goguitchaichvili avto@geofisica.unam.mx
SE14 Static characterization of oil fields and its implications in decision-making
Conveners:
Julio César González Hernández julio.gonzalezhdz@correo.buap.mx
Erick Osorio Santiago eosorios01@pemex.com
SE15 Application of remote sensing to societally important regions: estuarine, coastal, tropical and polar waters
Conveners:
José Gómez-Valdés jgomez@cicese.mx
Jorge Vázquez-Cuervo Jorge.Vazquez@jpl.nasa.gov
SE16 Preliminary results of September 7, 2021 earthquake of Mw7.1 in Acapulco, Guerrero
Conveners:
Arturo Iglesias Mendoza arturo@igeofisica.unam.mx
Gerardo Suárez Reinoso gerardo@geofisica.unam.mx
Raúl Daniel Corona Fernández geofísica.corona@gmail.com
SE17 General
Conveners:
Daniel Peralta dperalta@cicese.mx
Vanesa Magar vmagar@cicese.edu.mx
SE18 Plenary talks
Conveners:
Daniel Peralta dperalta@cicese.mx
Vanesa Magar vmagar@cicese.edu.mx

Abstract submission

The abstract registration of the UGM 2021 Annual Meeting will be open from June 14 to August 7.

To submit an abstract you need a UGM user account. If you don’t have it yet, create a UGM user account and start submitting your abstracts. If you already have a UGM user account but forgot your password, recover your UGM account password providing your registered email address.

Abstract registration cost is $500 MXN per abstract. We accept Visa and MasterCard credit cards.


Submit View

Participant registration

Make the payment of your registration to the RAUGM 2021 between August 8 and September 4 and get a special price.

Undergraduate

$1,330

  • Cost for undergraduate students
  • Price in MXN
  • Student id is required
  • Tax of 16% for students without membership
  • After September 4: $1,815

Graduate

$1,850

  • Cost for graduate students
  • Price in MXN
  • Student id is required
  • Tax of 16% for students without membership
  • After September 4: $2,380

Members

$3,175

  • Cost for participants with membership
  • Price in MXN
  • Tax 0%
  • After September 4: $3,865

Non-members

$3,865

  • Cost for participants without membership
  • Price in MXN
  • Tax 16%
  • After September 4: $4,555

We accept Visa and MasterCard credit cards. 30% discount on registration for retired participants. Registration for one day has a cost of 55% of the registration for the entire week. Virtual participation has the same cost as in-person participation. Participants with valid UGM membership do not pay tax. Participants with no UGM membership pay 16% tax. To obtain/renew your UGM membership, please visit the membership webpage of the Unión Geofísica Mexicana.


Register

Courses

Register for the courses that will be taught during the RAUGM 2021.


CU01 Uranium: A challenge in Chihuahua
Wednesday, November 3, 2021
8:30 AM CST
Conveners:
Ignacio Alfonso Reyes Cortés ireyes@uach.mx
Miguel Franco Rubio mfranco@uach.mx
Angélica Oviedo García aoviedo@uach.mx
CU02 Applied hydrogeochemistry
Tuesday, November 2, 2021
8:30 AM CST
Conveners:
Janete Morán-Ramírez janete@igeofisica.unam.mx
José Alfredo Ramos Leal jalfredo@ipicyt.edu.mx
CU03 Scientific visualization and storytelling
Tuesday, November 2, 2021
8:30 AM CST
Conveners:
Luis Miguel de la Cruz Salas luiggix@gmail.com
CU04 Sampling techniques for dating archaeological context by archaeomagnetism, radiocarbon and thermoluminescence
Wednesday, November 3, 2021
8:30 AM CST
Conveners:
Galia González Hernández galia@igeofisica.unam.mx
Ana María Soler Arechalde anesoler@igeofisica.unam.mx
Ángel Ramírez Luna angel.termo@gmail.com
CU05 Geochemical speciation modeling software
Thursday, November 4, 2021
8:30 AM CST
Conveners:
Victor Alejandro Arias Esquivel alexarias7114@gmail.com
CU06 3D modeling of magnetotelluric data
Wednesday, November 3, 2021
8:30 AM CST
Conveners:
Diego Ruiz Aguilar druiz@cicese.mx
Erik Uziel Gallardo Romero egallardo@cicese.edu.mx
CU07 Signal theory and artificial intelligence
Friday, November 5, 2021
8:30 AM CST
Conveners:
Victor Manuel Velasco Herrera vmv@igeofisica.unam.mx
Mauro Valdés Barrón mauro@igeofisica.unam.mx
David Riveros Rosas driveros@igeofisica.unam.mx
CU08 Geophysical well log interpretation workshop
Tuesday, November 2, 2021
8:30 AM CST
Conveners:
Julio César González Hernández julio.gonzalezhdz@correo.buap.mx
Erick Osorio Santiago ing.eosorio@outlook.com
CU09 Cloud computing
Friday, November 5, 2021
8:30 AM CST
Conveners:
Víctor Hugo de la Luz Rodríguez vdelaluz@enesmorelia.unam.mx
Enrique Cruz Martínez bbecm@hotmail.com

We accept Visa and MasterCard credit cards. Cost for students $480 MXN. Cost for members $760 MXN. Costs for non-members $1,310 MXN. Participants with valid UGM membership do not pay tax. Participants with no UGM membership pay 16% tax. To obtain/renew your UGM membership, please visit the membership webpage of the Unión Geofísica Mexicana.


Register

Exhibitors

Venue

The 2021 Annual Meeting of the Unión Geofísica Mexicana will be held at Expo Guadalajara in Guadalajara, Jalisco, México.

home Website: http://www.expoguadalajara.mx
place Address: Av. Mariano Otero #1499, CP 44550, Guadalajara, Jalisco, México
email Email: infoexpo@expoguadalajara.mx
phone Phone: +(52)(33)33.43.3000
local_airport Local airport: GDL

Real Inn Hotel

1st Option (Breakfast included)

Room Rate

Single $1,280 MXN
Double $1,460 MXN

Price per room, per night. Add 19% tax. Includes buffet breakfast.

Book now

2nd Option (Without breakfast)

Room Rate

Single $1,100 MXN
Double $1,100 MXN

Price per room, per night. Add 19% tax.

Book now

Sponsors

CICESE
Instituto de Geofísica, UNAM
Ampere
Coordinación de la Investigación Científica, UNAM
Instituto de Geología, UNAM

Past meetings