OCTOBER 27 TO NOVEMBER 1

· Sheraton Buganvilias Hotel · Puerto Vallarta · Jalisco · Mexico ·

TOPICS

· Archeometry · Climatology, climate change and atmospheric sciences · Soil sciences · Geophysical exploration · Space physics · Structural geology and tectonics · Geodesy · Environmental geology and geophysics · Petroleum geology · Geomagnetism and paleomagnetism · Geohydrology · Geochemistry and petrology · Modeling of geophysical systems · Oceanography · Coastal oceanography · Paleontology · Natural hazards · Sedimentology and stratigraphy · Seismology · Vulcanology ·

DEADLINES

· Special session and course proposals: June 2 · Abstract submission: August 11 · Participant pre-registration: September 8 ·

Calls

CN01 Special session proposals
Date: From April 7 to June 2
CN02 Course proposals
Date: From April 7 to June 2
CN03 Contest of scientific story "Great extinctions and climate changes"
Date: From April 7 to September 30
CN04 "Francisco Medina Martínez" Prize
Date: From May 7 to June 14
CN05 "Manuel Maldonado Koerdell" Medal
Date: From June 13 to August 11
CN06 Teacher of the year in Earth Sciences
Date: From June 13 to August 11
CN07 UGM Vice Presidency
Date: From August 22 to September 22
CN08 Support for undergraduate students
Date: From August 26 to September 18
Online form: https://forms.gle/c1vtcPKhxNZN9Aj27
CN09 Knowledge contest for undergraduate students
Date: From August 26 to September 22
Online form: https://forms.gle/PQtzunHFUNEM8Toh7
CN10 Prize for the best student presentation
Date: No deadlines apply

Regular sessions

AR Archeometry
Conveners:
José Luis Punzo Díaz jose_punzo@inah.gob.mx
Juan Rodrigo Esparza López resparza@colmich.edu.mx
Galia González Hernández galia@geofisica.unam.mx
Ana María Soler Arechalde anesoler@igeofisica.unam.mx
CS Soil science
Conveners:
Daniel Peralta dperalta@cicese.mx
Ligia Pérez-Cruz perezcruz@igeofisica.unam.mx
CCA Climatology, climate change and atmospheric sciences
Conveners:
Erika Danaé López Espinoza danae@atmosfera.unam.mx
Luis Felipe Pineda Martínez luisfpm23@gmail.com
EG Geophysical exploration
Conveners:
Mario González mgonzale@cicese.mx
Iza Canales izacanales@unam.mx
FE Space physics
Conveners:
Juan Américo González Esparza americo@igeofisica.unam.mx
Julio César Mejía Ambriz jcmejia@geofisica.unam.mx
Víctor de la Luz itztli@gmail.com
GEOD Geodesy
Conveners:
GEOH Geohydrology
Conveners:
Alberto Arias Paz ariaspaz@unam.mx
Alfredo Ramos Leal jalfredo@ipicyt.edu.mx
GP Petroleum geology
Conveners:
Javier Arellano Gil arellano@unam.mx
GET Structural geology and tectonics
Conveners:
Luca Ferrari luca@unam.mx
José Rosas-Elguera jrosaselguera@yahoo.com
GGA Environmental geology and geophysics
Conveners:
Roberto Maciel romacielf@gmail.com
GEOPAL Geomagnetism and paleomagnetism
Conveners:
Manuel Calvo Rathert mcalvo@ubu.es
Rubén Cejudo Ruiz ruben@igeofisica.unam.mx
Miguel Ángel Cervantes miguel_cervantes@enesmorelia.unam.mx
Ana Caccavari anacg@igeofisica.unam.mx
GEOQP Geochemistry and petrology
Conveners:
Daniel Peralta dperalta@cicese.mx
Ligia Pérez-Cruz perezcruz@igeofisica.unam.mx
MSG Modeling of geophysical systems
Conveners:
OCC Coastal oceanography
Conveners:
Héctor García Nava hector.gnava@uabc.edu.mx
Amaia Ruiz de Alegría Arzaburu amaia@uabc.edu.mx
Miguel Ángel Ahumada Sempoal ahumada@angel.umar.mx
Manuel Verduzco Zapata verduzco.ucol@gmail.com
OCE Oceanography
Conveners:
Ismael de Jesús Mariño Tapia imarino@cinvestav.mx
PALEO Paleontology
Conveners:
Ricardo Barragán Manzo ricardor@geologia.unam.mx
Miguel Angel Torres Martínez miguelatm@geologia.unam.mx
RN Natural hazards
Conveners:
SED Sedimentology and stratigraphy
Conveners:
Jesús Arturo Martín Barajas amartin@cicese.mx
SIS Seismology
Conveners:
Víctor Hugo Márquez Ramírez marvh@geociencias.unam.mx
Quetzalcoatl Rodríguez quetza@geociencias.unam.mx
VUL Vulcanology
Conveners:

Special sessions

SE01 Static characterization of reservoir and their implications
Conveners:
María Magdalena Montiel López magdapf194@gmail.com
Erick Osorio Santiago ing.eosorio@outlook.com
SE02 4th IberoAmerican Congress on Forensic Geology
Conveners:
Ana Caccavari Garza anacg@igeofisica.unam.mx
Carlos Martín Molina Gallego martin.molina@uan.edu.co
Laurance Donnely geologist@hotmail.co.uk
Fabio Salvador salvador.fass@dpf.gov.br
SE03 Modeling of atmospheric processes: theory and applications
Conveners:
Yuri Skiba skiba@unam.mx
David Parra-Guevara pdavid@atmosfera.unam.mx
SE04 Earth Science communication, outreach and education
Conveners:
Bernardo Bastien-Olvera bastien@ucdavis.edu
Raiza Pilatowsky-Gruner rpilatowsky@ucdavis.edu
SE05 Regional climate modelling and CORDEX
Conveners:
Ruth Cerezo-Mota rcerezom@iingen.unam.mx
Juan Matías Mendez Pérez jumendez@uv.mx
SE06 Numerical modelling for renewable energy (wind and ocean)
Conveners:
Markus Gross mgross@cicese.mx
Vanesa Magar vmagar@cicese.edu.mx
SE07 Physical Limnology
Conveners:
SE08 Underwater Science, experiences and tools for ocean research
Conveners:
SE09 Interaction between archeology, anthropology and geosciences: first meeting of the Mexican Society of Western Archeometry
Conveners:
Rodrigo Esparza resparza@colmich.edu.mx
José Luis Punzo jose_punzo@inah.gob.mx
Blanca Maldonado bem171@gmail.com
Peter Jiménez vigozac@yahoo.com
SE10 Deepwater oil spills: Looking to the future
Conveners:
Adolfo Gracia gracia@unam.mx
Steven A. Murawski smurawski@usf.edu
Liesl Hotaling lhotaling@mail.usf.edu
Sherryl Gilbert sherryl@usf.edu
SE11 Geosciences in society: education, outreach and dissemination
Conveners:
Marina Manea marina@geociencias.unam.mx
Sara Solís Valdéz sarasoli@geociencias.unam.mx
Erika Jessenia Moreno erikajess@geociencias.unam.mx
SE12 Disaster prevention for megathrust earthquakes and tsunamis in Mexico
Conveners:
Yoshihiro Ito ito.yoshihiro.4w@kyoto-u.ac.jp
Víctor M. Cruz-Atienza cruz@geofisica.unam.mx
SE13 2017 Mw 8.2 Tehuantepec Earthquake
Conveners:
Allen Husker allen@igeofisica.unam.mx
Aaron Velasco aavelasco@utep.edu
Marco Calo calo@igeofisica.unam.mx
Xyoli Pérez-Campos xyoli@igeofisica.unam.mx
SE14 Monitoring mass movements and transport processes in volcanic environment
Conveners:
Lucia Capra lcapra@geociencias.unam.mx
Víctor Hugo Márquez Ramírez marvh@geociencias.unam.mx
Velio Coviello Velio.Coviello@unibz.it
SE15 Observational studies and modeling of the Gulf of Mexico circulation, bigeochemistry and ecology
Conveners:
Juan Carlos Herguera herguera@cicese.mx
Paula Pérez Brunius brunius@cicese.mx
Sharon Herzka sherzka@cicese.mx
Julio Sheinbaum Pardo julios@cicese.mx
SE16 Ambient seismic noise
Conveners:
SE17 Emerging trends for Earth observation
Conveners:
Alejandro Hinojosa alhinc@cicese.mx
Sergio Arregui sarregui@cicese.mx
SE18 Marine and continental paleoclimatic records
Conveners:
Abdel Siffedine abdel.sife@gmail.com
Ligia Pérez-Cruz perezcruz@igeofisica.unam.mx
SE19 Advances in the application of near-surface geophysical methods
Conveners:
Martín Cárdenas Soto martinc@unam.mx
Gerardo Cifuentes Nava gercifue@igeofisica.unam.mx
David Escobedo Zenil dezenil@unam.mx
Esteban Hernández Quintero estebanh@geofisica.unam.mx
SE20 Sargassum
Conveners:
Ligia Pérez-Cruz perezcruz@igeofisica.unam.mx
Elisa Serviere Zaragoza serviere04@cibnor.mx
SE21 25 years of eruption at Popocatépetl Volcano: one of the Earth’s most dangerous volcanoes
Conveners:
Hugo Delgado Granados director@igeofisica.unam.mx
Robin Campion robin@geofisica.unam.mx
SE22 General
Conveners:
Daniel Peralta dperalta@cicese.mx
Ligia Pérez-Cruz perezcruz@igeofisica.unam.mx
SE23 Plenary talks
Conveners:
Daniel Peralta dperalta@cicese.mx
Ligia Pérez-Cruz perezcruz@igeofisica.unam.mx

Abstract submission

The abstract registration of the UGM 2019 Annual Meeting will be open from June 17th to August 11th.

To submit an abstract you need a UGM user account. If you don’t have it yet, create a UGM user account and start submitting your abstracts. If you already have a UGM user account but forgot your password, recover your UGM account password providing your registered email address.

Abstract registration cost is $350 MXN per abstract. We accept Visa and MasterCard credit cards.


Submit View

Participant registration

Make the payment of your registration to the RAUGM 2019 between August 12 and September 8 and get a special price.

Undergraduate

$1,100

  • Cost for undergraduate students
  • Price in MXN
  • Student id is required
  • Tax of 16% for students without membership
  • After September 8: $1,500

Graduate

$1,400

  • Cost for graduate students
  • Price in MXN
  • Student id is required
  • Tax of 16% for students without membership
  • After September 8: $1,800

Members

$2,300

  • Cost for participants with membership
  • Price in MXN
  • Tax 0%
  • After September 8: $2,800

Non-members

$2,800

  • Cost for participants without membership
  • Price in MXN
  • Tax 16%
  • After September 8: $3,300

We accept Visa and MasterCard credit cards. Participants with valid UGM membership do not pay tax. Participants with no UGM membership pay 16% tax. To obtain/renew your UGM membership, please visit the membership webpage of the Unión Geofísica Mexicana.


Register

Program

Take a look at the general program and the course schedule to know the day and time of the presentations, courses and all activities of the UGM 2019 Annual Meeting.


General program Course schedule

Courses

Register for the courses that will be taught during the RAUGM 2019.

Students

school

Register

$350

Price in MXN

Members

people

Register

$550

Price in MXN

Non-members

person

Register

$950

Price in MXN


CU01 Risk analysis of the oil system
Conveners:
María Magdalena Montiel López magdapf194@gmail.com
Erick Osorio Santiago ing.eosorio@outlook.com
CU02 How to communicate my research with audiovisual storytelling?
Conveners:
Raiza Pilatowsky-Gruner rpilatowsky@ucdavis.edu
Bernardo Bastien-Olvera bastien@ucdavis.edu
Ernesto Mata Plata elmapa@ciencias.unam.mx
CU03 Course in forensic geoscience
Conveners:
Rosa María Dimaggio rosamaria.dimaggio@gmail.com
Carlos Martín Molina martin.molina@uan.edu.co
Lornan Dawson Lorna.Dawson@hutton.ac.uk
Laurance Donnelly geologist@hotmail.co.uk
CU04 Terrestrial monitoring by UAVS: planning and data processing
Conveners:
CU05 Graphical presentation of scientific data using GNUPLOT
Conveners:
Gilberto Armando Casillas Pérez gacp@geofisica.unam.mx
Pablo Villanueva Hernández pablo@geofisica.unam.mx
CU06 Introduction to full-waveform inversion
Conveners:
Alan Juárez alanjuar@usc.edu
Leonardo Ramírez-Guzmán lramirezg@iingen.unam.mx
Armando Espíndola Carmona armando.espindolacarmona@kaust.edu.sa
Carlos Mendoza mendozac@geociencias.unam.mx
CU07 Acquisition of bathymetric data using a multibeam system, survey technics under different scenarios
Conveners:
Leonardo José Figueroa Albornoz Leonardo.Figueroa@km.kongsberg.com
Christopher Hancock Chris.Hancock@km.kongsberg-us.com
CU08 1D and 2D modeling and inversion in DC resistivity with open access software
Conveners:
Marco Antonio Pérez Flores mperez@cicese.mx
Ángel Daniel Peralta Castro dperalta@cicese.mx
CU09 Modeling coastal erosion during storms and hurricanes using XBeach
Conveners:
Jaime Arriaga jarriagag@iingen.unam.mx
Jantien Rutten jrutten@iingen.unam.mx
CU10 Numerical modeling in coastal engineering
Conveners:
Christian Appendini cappendinia@iingen.unam.mx
CU11 Scientific computing with Python: an introduction
Conveners:
Luis Miguel de la Cruz Salas luiggi@igeofisica.unam.mx
CU12 VISHMOD Methodology
Conveners:
Janete Morán Ramírez janete@igeofisica.unam.mx
José Alfredo Ramos Leal jalfredo@ipicyt.edu.mx
CU13 Science communication
Conveners:
Jaime Urrutia-Fucugauchi juf@igeofisica.unam.mx
CU14 Location of an earthquake from Mexico
Conveners:
Delia Iresine Bello Segura delia@sismologico.unam.mx
CU15 Fractal geometry, nonlinear dynamic systems and their applications in geosciences
Conveners:
Tomás Morales Acoltzi acoltzi@atmosfera.unam.mx
Marcos Bernal Romero matemarck@gmail.com
Daniel Peña Maciel deadbyken@yahoo.com.mx
Silvia Herrera Cortés silvia_mat83@yahoo.com.mx

We accept Visa and MasterCard credit cards. Participants with valid UGM membership do not pay tax. Participants with no UGM membership pay 16% tax. To obtain/renew your UGM membership, please visit the membership webpage of the Unión Geofísica Mexicana.


Register Schedule

Venue

The 2019 Annual Meeting of the Unión Geofísica Mexicana will be held at the Sheraton Buganvilias hotel in Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco, México.

home Website: http://www.sheratonvallarta.com
place Address: Blvd. Francisco Medina Ascencio No. 999, Zona Hotelera Las Glorias C.P. 48333, Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco, México
gps_fixed GPS coordinates: 20.626882, -105.230771
local_airport Local airport: PVR

1st Option (Breakfast included)

Room Rate

Single $2,100 MXN
Double $1,289 MXN
Triple $1,050 MXN

Price per person, per night. Price with taxes included. Includes buffet breakfast. Tips included for bellman, housekeeper and breakfast. Up to two children under 17 years old without charge sharing room with two adults, does not include breakfast.

2nd Option (Without breakfast)

Room Rate

Single $1,760 MXN
Double $880 MXN
Triple $825 MXN

Price per person, per night. Add tax of 19%. It does not include tips for bellman and housekeeper, these will be charged to the room. Up to two children under 17 years old without charge sharing room with two adults.

3rd Option (Students, without breakfast)

Room Rate

Single $1,399 MXN
Double $700 MXN
Triple $650 MXN
Quadruple $600 MXN

Price per person, per night. Add tax of 19%. It does not include tips for bellman and housekeeper, these will be handled at client discretion. A valid student id will be required to apply for this room rate. Breakfasts at 2x1 on the current price. 30% discount on meals, dinners and non-alcoholic beverages. The 2x1 on breakfast and the 30% discount on meals, dinners and non-alcoholic beverages also apply to students not registered in the hotel by presenting the student's id and the 2019 Annual Meeting badge.

Check-in and check-out

  • Check-in: 15:00 hrs.
  • Check-out: 12:00 hrs.

Mandatory tips

In case that the plan or package does not include tips for bellman and housekeeper, they will be charged directly to the room (does not apply for students).

  • Tip for bellman: $50.00 MXN per person, includes arrival and departure.
  • Tip for housekeeper: $22.50 MXN per person, per night.
  • Tip to butlers: $50.00 MXN per room, per night.

Reservations

By phone:

  • phone +52 322 226 0404
  • phone 01 800 326 4600
  • phone 877 743 7282

By email:

There are a limited number of rooms, we suggest you make your reservation as soon as possible. To receive the special rate and obtain the prices published on this page, in your reservation you must inform that you attend the 2019 Annual Meeting of the Unión Geofísica Mexicana.

Additional benefits

15% discount on food and drinks in consumer centers. 15% discount on stores (not applicable in tobacco stores nor grocery stores). 15% discount on SPA. Usage of the gym in courtesy. These benefits apply to all participants enrolled in the 2019 Annual Meeting.

Airlines

Special price in AeroMexico and Interjet for RAUGM 2019 participants.

Purchase from August 13 and travel between October 22 and November 6. Up to 12% discount on domestic flights and up to 10% discount on international flights. Purchase through the Call Center and the Network of Direct Sales Offices of AeroMexico. Promotional code IT9MXRC00382N1. More information.

Purchase through the Eventos Interjet website. Up to 10% discount on flight rates. Event number 4312035 and promotion code RAUFM19.


Past meetings

Visit the websites of the previous Meetings.